Gallery

Different kinds of tiredness

I have this stupid tendency to ignore pain and discomfort when I’m sitting at the computer, to ignore the fact that my lower back is demanding that I get up and stretch, to ignore the fact that my eyes are getting tired, to ignore the physical signs that I should really get up from this chair and move, and maybe even – shocking as this may sound 🙂 – go and do something else that doesn’t involve using the computer.

And so I sometimes end up leaving the computer only when it’s bedtime, and finding that I’m lying in bed wide awake, because I didn’t get properly tired – I didn’t unwind properly. I thought I was tired enough to go to sleep but really I was only tired from sitting here and looking at the screen. There are different kinds of tiredness, and being tired from looking at the computer screen does not necessarily mean being sleepy.

Your reactions please

